OSU spring scrimmage: QB Collins uses legs

GARY ANDERSEN has said the quarterback will run the ball in his offense. Seth Collins certainly did that on Saturday during Oregon State’s first official scrimmage of the spring session.

Seth Collins ripped off two scoring runs of 9- and 12-yards and totaled 75 yards on eight carries. Storm Woods was the leading rusher on the day with 92 yards on 11 carries.

The Beaver D, meanwhile, did not allow a passing touchdown in the 102-play scrimmage and did their best work inside the red zone. Dashon Hunt had the day’s lone interception.

Collins completed five of 10 passes for 30 yard. Luke Del Rio was 5 for 13 for 63 yards with an interception. Nick Mitchell was 4 for 12 for 23 yards. He also ran three times for 26 yards.

The full-contact scrimmage was supposed to be open to the public but fans were turned away.

“Today's football practice will be inside due to weather -- space limitations prohibit public viewing. Sorry for any inconvenience,” OSU tweeted out.

Oregon State will now take a two-week break, with time off for finals and spring break, before returning to the practice field.

  • Garrett Owens, 40-yard field goal
  • Damien Haskins 2-yard run (Ian Crist PAT)
  • Zach Standish, 35-yard field goal
  • Ryan Cope, 26-yard field goal
  • Seth Collins 9-yard run (Garrett Owens PAT)
  • Seth Collins 12-yard run (Zach Standish PAT)

  • RUSHING (No-Yds-TD)
  • Storm Woods 11-92; Seth Collins 8-75-2; Chris Brown 12-37; Nick Mitchell 3-26; Jaylynn Bailey 6-20; Damien Haskins 4-18-1; Victor Bolden 1-8; Marcus Greaves 2-6; Ryan Nall 1-6; Rayshun Spearman 2-3; Kyle Kempt 2-3; Luke Del Rio 3-(-1); TEAM 1-(-10).

  • PASSING (Att-Comp-Int-Yds-TD)
  • Luke Del Rio 13-5-1-63-0; Seth Collins 10-5-0-30-0; Nick Mitchell 12-4-0-23-0; Kyle Kempt 3-2-0-15-0; Marcus McMaryion 3-0-0-0-0.

  • Jordan Villamin 3-24; Hunter Jarmon 2-32; Victor Bolden 2-26; Xavier Hawkins 2-15; Datrin Guyton 2-3; Jaylynn Bailey 1-13; Drew Kell 1-7; Caleb Smith 1-5; Kellen Clute, 1-4; Storm Woods 1-2.

  • Dashon Hunt 1.

  • Sumner Houston 1.

  • BeaverBlitz Top Stories