Pre-Spring News and Notes

With spring ball just a day away it is time to catch up on the latest Oregon State football news.

  • The Beavers return 45 lettermen, 12 of which are starters. Of the 12 starters, five are on offense (QB Derek Anderson, C Matt Brock, OT Doug Nienhuis, OT Kanan Sanchez, SE Mike Hass) and seven are on defense (DT Ben Siegert, LB Trent Bray, CB Brandon Browner, FS Mitch Meeuwsen, LB Jonathan Pollard, DT Bill Swancutt, CB Aric Williams).

  • Of the seven returning defensive starters, five earned some type of honor for their play in 2003 (Siegert, Browner, Meeuwsen, Swancutt and Williams).

  • OSU lost 18 lettermen, including 12 starters, seven on offense () and six on defense.

  • The Beavers have 26 walk-ons, 33 redshirt freshmen and 25 true freshmen on the roster.

  • Tailback Charles Burnley and tight end Zach Hagemeister, who failed to qualify in 2003, but recently passed in 2004, will participate in spring drills.

  • Five players will not participate due to injuries:
    o SS Mitch Meeuwsen – shoulder
    o LB Seth Lacey – shoulder/neck
    o TE Pat Loney – shoulder
    o OT Jake Pratt – shoulder
    o DT Ben Siegert – shoulder

  • OL Kanan Sanchez will miss spring practice due to personal reasons.

  • OL Brandon Lockheart and DB Jeremy Hoover will miss drills due to academic reasons.

  • WR Phil Ghilarducci has left the team due to a family member being ill.

  • LeCharls McDaniel has been moved from special teams coach to tight ends coach.

  • Bruce Read, who was with Riley at Oregon State in ‘97 and ’98, has been hired as the special teams coach.

  • Danny Kalavi has been moved to the linebacker position. He was working out with the wide receivers in 2003.
Dan Norz can be reached at

BeaverBlitz Top Stories