Football Team Set to Dominate Bennys

With the sixth annual Benny awards just a few weeks away, the finalists for several award categories have been announced.  The football and men's basketball team are well represented in almost every category.

Three football  players, Steven Jackson, James Newson, and Richard Seigler are up for the Male Athlete of the Year Award. Men's basketball forward David Lucas, who was a first team All-Pac-10 selection, is also up for the same award.

Jackson took home the Male Athlete Award last year while fellow football player Ken Simonton won the trophy in 2001 and defensive tackle Inoke Breckterfield earned the honor in 1999.

Jackson and Lucas have also been nominated for Male Performance of the Year as Jackson recorded five touchdowns in the Las Vegas Bowl, tying an NCAA record.  On the hardwood Lucas paced the men's team with a 17.2 scoring average while grabbing 6.9 rebounds a game. 

Quarterback Derek Anderson is also up for the award after passing for a school record 485 yards against USC. A football or basketball player has not won the Male Performance of the Year Award in the last three years.

Cornerback Brandon Browner and forward Jim Hanchett are both up for the Male Newcomer of the Year Award.  If Browner takes come the newcomer trophy a football player will have won the award the past four out of five years. 

Mitch Meeuwsen won in 2002, Seigler won in 2001, and Dennis Weathersby won the trophy in 2000.

Football head coach Mike Riley is also getting in on the action as he is nominated for Male Sport Coach of the Year.  Former head coach Dennis Erickson won the honor in 2000 and 2001.

The football team as a whole is up for Male Team of the Year.  The last time the football team won the award was in 2001.

The Bennys begin at 5 p.m. on June 1 with the awards ceremony starting at 7 p.m.  Tickets are $20 for the entire event. The awards ceremony is free, but tickets are required to attend the event.

Tickets may be obtained by contacting the Beaver Athletic Student Fund at 541-737-2370 or by stopping by the office at 123 Gill. Tickets must be purchased by May 27.

For a complete list of the finalists visit  For more information on the Bennys read Bennys Set for June 1.

BeaverBlitz Top Stories