Eight Beavers on conference teams

Eight Beaver football players made the Pac-10 first and second all-conference teams.

DE Bill Swancutt | First Team | Co-Defensive Player of the Year

Swancutt is the first Oregon State player ever selected as Pac-10 Player of the Year, offense or defense (the award started in 1975). He is the only unanimous selection on this
year's All-Pac-10 Conference Football Team.

Swancutt, has started 37 straight games, also was a first-team All-Academic selection this year, one of just two players in the league to be named to both teams.

The Oregon native ranks second in the Pac-10 in both quarterback sacks (11.5) and tackles for loss (18.5) and has career totals of 37 QB sacks and 59.5 tackles for loss, both Oregon State career records. His 63 tackles this season is tops among Pac-10 down linemen.


WR Mike Hass | First Team

Hass is making his first appearance on an all-conference team after picking up honorable mention honors last year.  He leds the conference in receiving yards per game (115.8) and receptions per game (7.36) and is the only receiver in the Pac-10 averaging over 100 receiving yards per game.

He set the conference receiving record with 293 yards against Boise State on Sept. 10 and set OSU's reception record in a game with 14 against Arizona State on Sept. 25.

The former walk-on is also in the top five of most of Oregon State's career receiving records and will have a chance to break several of them in 2005.


FS Mitch Meeuwsen | First Team

Oregon State's career interception leader (20) has been a main stay in OSU's backfield for four years.  His 20 picks ties him for first among active players in the NCAA.

His 38 career starts and 203 career tackles are both team highs.


RT Doug Nienhuis | First Team

Nienhuis' 36 consecutive career starts is a statement to his commitment and importance to the Beaver program the last few years.

He helped protect one of the program's most successful passers while clearing the way for a future NFL back.  Nienhuis was a second team All-Pac-10 selection last year.


QB Derek Anderson | Second Team

Anderson is the first quarterback in Oregon State football history to lead his team to three bowl games.  He is the owner of almost all of OSU's career and season records.

He is first in the conference in passing at 290.6 yards per game and is just one of six Pac-10 gunslingers to throw for over 10,000 yards during his career.

Anderson is third on the Pac-10 career passing and career touchdown passes charts.


LB Trent Bray | Second Team

Bray is always around the ball making plays as his team leading and second conference best 10.3 tackles per game shows.

The Washington native has been the team leader in tackles in 9 of the last 14 games while reaching double digit stops in seven games this year.


CB Brandon Browner | Second Team

The 2003 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year did not have another magical season, but a successful one nonetheless.  Browner did not grab an interception all year long as most teams did not throw against him.

He finished eighth on the team in tackles and second in passes defended (8).


PK Alexis Serna | Second Team

After a rough game against LSU, Serna had a sizzling season as he hit 15 of 16 field goals, including 5 of 5 twice, while connecting on all of his extra point attempts.

His 5 of 5 performances earned him Pac-10 Special Teams Player of the Week honors and tied the OSU record for field goals made in a game.


CB Aric Williams | Second Team

Williams quietly had an outstanding senior season as he ranks first in the Pac-10 in passes defended (1.6) and pass breakups (12).

He was an honorable mention selection last year and is currently sixth on the team in tackles.


Honorable mention selections:  C Matt Brock, Sr.; OLB Keith Ellison, Jr.; TE Joe Newton, So.; P Sam Paulescu, Jr.; SS Sabby Piscitelli, So.; OLB Jonathan Pollard, Sr.; TB Dwight Wright, Sr.

BeaverBlitz Top Stories