Les Schwab Bowl slated for Saturday

The Beaver baseball team's magical run is over and the selection of quality sporting events is waning. But, if you are still craving for football you can get your fix this Saturday at PGE Park in Portland, Ore at the annual Les Schwab Bowl.

The annual Oregon 4A high school all-star game features some of the best high school players from around the state of Oregon. Fourteen of the 72 players on the North and South squads have signed letters-of-intent with Division I-A or Division I-AA college programs with several of others planning to walk-on.

The 58-year old event will feature three players who plan on attending and playing football for OSU. One of the three, Kevin Maher (6-3, 208), has a scholarship but will most likely be headed to junior college. Taylor Kavanaugh (5-10, 170) and Zach Tatman (6-5, 240) plan on walking on.

The North squad will be under the tutelage of Lake Oswego coach Steve Coury while Sprague coach Robin Hill who led his team to the state title in 2004 will run the South team. Receivers Maher and Kavanaugh will suit up for the North while receiver Tatman will lace up for the South.

Maher was a first team all-league and all-state selection on both sides of the ball while earning the Offensive Player of the Year honors. This marks the second year in a row that OSU has had Oregon's 4A Offensive Player of the Year play in the Les Schwab Bowl. Kavanaugh earned all-league honors as a receiver and linebacker. He is an excellent student who was a National Football Foundation Scholar Athlete Nominee. The Lincoln High product was a multiple sport star as he lettered in wresting, baseball, and track.

Tatman was named the Most Valuable Player of the state championship game. He earned first team all-league honors as a linebacker. The Sprague High product was a multi-sport standout as he lettered three times in basketball and participated in 33rd Oregon Athletic Coaches Association all-star contest.

This will be the last time to see highly recruited Ndamukong Suh, the 2005 defensive player of the year, before he heads off to Nebraska.

General admission tickets are $7 and are available at all Ticketmaster locations in addition to the PGE Park Box office on 20th and Morrison.

Kickoff is on Saturday, June 25 at 7 p.m. in PGE Park. The fan festival begins at 4:30 p.m.

For more information visit the Les Schwab Bowl online.

BeaverBlitz Top Stories