Serna and Hass nab trophies

If you took a look at the All-Pac-10 teams and the national award winners you would think that the Oregon State football team would be preparing for a big time bowl game. Unfortunately, the team isn't going bowling, but it does prove that even in a down year the Beavers have plenty of talent and that another BCS team is right around the corner.

Oregon State placed five players on the Pac-10's first team, tying a school record, while kicker Alexis Serna and receiver Mike Hass walked away from the ESPN college football awards show in Florida with the Lou Groza and Biletnikoff trophies, respectively, in hand.  It was the first time in the 15-year history of the show that Oregon State had finalists.

"It's been a long road, walking on to Corvallis five years ago and accepting the Biletnikoff Award," Hass said after receiving the trophy. "It's an amazing feeling."

Serna beat out Colorado's Mason Crosby and Clemson's Jad Dean while Hass beat out USC's Dwayne Jarrett and Notre Dame's Jeff Samardziga.  Texas was the only other university to have players from the same school win a trophy.

Newspaper articles:


Oregon State receiver Make Hass poses with the Biletnikoff Award given to the nation's best wideout, as college football honored its stars in Orlando, Fla., Thursday, Dec. 8, 2005.
(AP Photo/Brian Myrick)
Oregon State kicker Alexis Serna poses with the Lou Groza Award during the Home Depot 2005 College Football Awards at the Walt Disney World Boardwalk Resort in Orlando, Fla., Thursday, Dec. 8, 2005.
(AP Photo/Brian Myrick)

BeaverBlitz Top Stories