Three Beavs named to first team

Yvenson Bernard, Jeremy Perry and Sabby Piscitelli were named to the Pac-10's All-Conference first team Monday. Kyle DeVan, Derrick Doggett, Adam Koets, Alexis Serna and Sammie Stroughter earned second team honors. Stroughter was named a second team member as a receiver and punt returner.

Yvenson Bernard, Jeremy Perry and Sabby Piscitelli were named to the Pac-10's All-Conference first team Monday. Kyle DeVan, Derrick Doggett, Adam Koets, Alexis Serna and Sammie Stroughter earned second team honors. Stroughter was named a second team member as a receiver and punt returner.


RB Yvenson Bernard | First Team | Junior

Bernard is second in the Pac-10 for rushing yards per game averaging 100.2 and is fourth for all-purpose yards at 118.2. He currently is fourth all-time at OSU with 2,443 rushing yards and will likely move into third place behind Ken Simonton and Steven Jackson before the season concludes.

Bernard was an Honorable Mention All-Pac-10 selection last year.


LG Jeremy Perry | First Team | Sophomore

Perry was the Pac-10 Co-Freshman of the Year last season and earned Freshman All-American honors in several publications.

Perry was a preseason Outland and Lombardi Award candidate.

SS Sabby Piscitelli | First Team | Senior

Piscitelli currently has 13 career interceptions, tied for the fifth-most in the nation by an active player. Piscitelli has 60 tackles for the season and is tied for second in the league with 11 pass deflections. He was a preseason candidate for the Nagurski and Thorpe Awards.

He was an honorable mention selection as a sophomore and junior.


WR Sammie Stroughter | Second Team | Junior

Stroughter leads the Pac-10 with 1,100 yards and is first in the conference in yards per game at 91.7.

As a punt returner Stroughter is averaging 15.4 yards per return, good for fifth in the nation, and has three punt returns for touchdowns in 2006. He is one of 18 semi-finalists for the Randy Moss Return Man Award.

Stroughter's 416 punt return yards this year is an OSU record. He was just one of two players (Cal's DeSean Jackson) to be named to an All-Pac-10 team at two positions.


PK Alexis Serna | Second Team | Sophomore

Serna has made 97 consecutive extra points tying the school record for consecutive extra points made from 1972-78 with five kickers. This season Serna has made 10 of 14 from beyond 40 yards and 4 of 6 from beyond 50 yards. He has made 21 of 28 (.750) in 2006.

After his field goals Saturday he has 280 career points moving him into second place on OSU's scoring list.

Serna was a first team selection a year ago.


C Kyle DeVan | Second Team | Junior

DeVan has started 23 consecutive games and was a preseason Rimington Trophy candidate.

He earned honorable mention honors in 2005.


LT Adam Koets | Second Team | Senior

Koets has started 35 straight games and is a three time Pac-10 second team All-Academic member.


LB Derrick Doggett | Second Team | Junior

Doggett is second on the team with 70 tackles and has a co-team high three interceptions. He has returned two interceptions for touchdowns this season.

Doggett was a second team special teams pick last season.


Honorable mention Beavers: OT Andy Levitre, So.; QB Matt Moore, Sr.; TE Joe Newton, Sr.; OG Roy Schuening, Jr.; DT Ben Siegert, Sr.; DE Jeff Van Orsow, Jr.


Additional news and notes:

  • Only two of the Beavers' eight first and second team selections are seniors.

  • The Beavers placed five members on the first team last year (Mike Hass, Trent Bray, Keith Ellison, Sam Paulescu, Alexis Serna and Sir Henry Anderson).

  • DeSean Jackson of California was selected first-team as both a wide receiver and a punt returner. Likewise, Sammie Stroughter of Oregon State was named second-team at the same positions.

  • USC placed the most players on the first team with eight selections, followed by California with seven. Arizona and Oregon State were next with three.

  • Of the 30 first-team selections, 14 are seniors, 11 are juniors and five are sophomores. No freshmen made the first (or second) team.

  • Four players were named on the first-team ballot of all 10 coaches, three of them from California. Golden Bear CB Daymeion Hughes, TB Marshawn Lynch and DT Brandon Mebane were all unanimous selections, as was USC C Ryan Kalil.

  • Five players were named first-team All-Pac-10 for the second straight year.--OT Sam Baker, WR Dwayne Jarrett and C Ryan Kalil of USC and CB Daymeion Hughes and DT Brandon Mebane of California. In addition, PK Justin Medlock of UCLA was a first-team pick in 2004 and LB Michael Okwo of Stanford was a first-team selection in 2004 as a special teams player.


2006 Pac-10 First/Second Teams and Players of the Year

Offensive Player of the Year:
RB Marshawn Lynch, Jr., California

Pat Tillman Co-Defensive Players of the Year:
DB Daymeion Hughes, Sr., California

Co-Freshmen of the Year:
CB Jairus Byrd, Oregon, FS Taylor Mays, USC, DB Alterraun Verner, UCLA

Coach of the Year:
Pete Carroll, USC

First Team Offense
QB John David Booty, Jr., USC
RB Marshawn Lynch, Jr., California
RB Yvenson Bernard, Jr., Oregon State
WR Steve Smith, Sr., USC
WR DeSean Jackson, So., California
WR Dwayne Jarrett, Jr., USC
TE Zach Miller, Jr., Arizona State
OL Ryan Kalil, Sr., USC
OL Sam Baker, Jr., USC
OL Jeremy Perry, So., Oregon State
OL Enoka Lucas, Sr., Oregon
OL Alex Mack, So., California
OL Chilo Rachal, So., USC

First Team Defense
DL Brandon Mebane, Sr., California
DL Mkristo Bruce, Sr., Washington State
DL Sedrick Ellis, Jr., USC
DL Justin Hickman, Sr., UCLA
LB Desmond Bishop, Sr., California
LB Rey Maualuga, So., USC
LB Michael Okwo, Sr., Stanford
LB Keith Rivers, Jr., USC
DB Daymeion Hughes, Sr., California
DB Antoine Cason, Jr., Arizona
DB Eric Frampton, Sr., Washington State
DB Sabby Piscitelli, Sr., Oregon State
DB C.J. Wallace, Sr., Washington

First Team Specialists
PK Justin Medlock, Sr., UCLA
P Nick Folk, Jr., Arizona
KOR Syndric Steptoe, Sr., Arizona
PR DeSean Jackson, So., California
ST Wopamo Osaisai, Jr., Stanford

ST=special teams player (not a kicker or returner)

Second Team Offense
QB Alex Brink, Jr., Washington State
RB Jonathan Stewart, So., Oregon
RB Ryan Torain, Jr., Arizona State
WR Jason Hill, Sr., Washington State
WR Sammie Stroughter, Jr., Oregon State
TE Craig Stevens, Jr., California
OL Max Unger, So., Oregon
OL Mike Pollack, Jr., Arizona State
OL Mike Gibson, Jr., California
OL Kyle DeVan, Jr., Oregon State
OL Adam Koets, Sr., Oregon State

Second Team Defense
DL Bruce Davis, Jr., UCLA
DL Nu'u Tafisi, Sr., California
DL Lawrence Jackson, Jr., USC
DL Louis Holmes, Jr., Arizona
LB Scott White, Sr., Washington
LB Brian Cushing, So., USC
LB Derrick Doggett, Jr., Oregon State |
LB Spencer Larsen, Jr., Arizona
DB Terrell Thomas, Jr., USC
DB Chris Horton, Jr., UCLA
DB J.D. Nelson, Sr., Oregon
DB Michael Johnson, Sr., Arizona

Second Team Specialists
PK Alexis Serna, Jr., Oregon State
P Andrew Larson, Jr., California
KOR Terry Richardson, Sr., Arizona State
PR Sammie Stroughter, Jr., Oregon State
ST Byron Storer, Sr., California

For all of the honorable mention players visit Photographs from the Associated Press, Getty Images and were used in the making of the cards.

BeaverBlitz Top Stories