Beavers on trophy watch lists

Several Beavers are on trophy watch lists for some of college football's most prestigious awards. Richard Seigler and Dennis Weathersby have a shot at winning one of the postseason trophies, but who are the other Beavers up for post season awards?

Five Beavers, four defensive and one offensive, have been selected to various trophy watch lists for the 2002 football season. The outstanding Oregon State football players include cornerback Dennis Weathersby, linebacker Richard Seigler, linebacker Nick Barnett, defensive lineman Eric Manning, and running back Steven Jackson. An explanation of each trophy, a little history, a picture of the trophy and the Beaver candidate are listed below.


Doak Walker Award

The Doak Walker award is presented to college football's top running back and is presented by the SMU Athletic forum.

The trophy is named after Doak Walker, who played at SMU, where received all-american honors in '47, '48 and '49. Walker also won the Heisman Trophy in 1948 as a junior. After college football, Walker continued his football career in the NFL with the Detroit Lions where he helped led the team to NFL championships in '52 and '53. Walker was a pro bowler four times during his six years with the Lions and was named to the NFL Hall of Fame in 1986.

The SMU Athletic Board of Directors will narrow the list down to nine candidates on November 19. The Doak Walker National Comittee, consisting of former NFL All-Pro and college All-American running backs, will then name the winner in late November.

The receipient of the 2002 Doak Walker Trophy will be announced live on ESPN's College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 12, 2002.

RB Steven Jackson is one of 42 preseason candiates for the presitgious award and only one of six sophomores named to the list.



Lombardi Award

The Lombardi Award is presented to the best lineman, offensive or defensive, that is not only outstanding on the field, but also "best exemplifies the discipline of Vince Lombardi."

The award is named after legendary Green Bay Packer head coach Vince Lombadi, who lead the Packers of five NFL championships and six divisional championships. Lombardi was inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame in 1971.

The Rotary Club of Houston presents the annual award. The selection committe consists of over 300 college football coaches, writers, broadcasters, and previous Lombardi Award winners.

Twelve semi-finalists will be selected in early October, then narrowed down to four finalists in late October. The annoucement of the 2002 Lombardi Award winner will take place on the field of Reliant Stadium in Houston on December 11, 2002.

The Lombardi Award is the only award open to all college football lineman.

DT Eric Manning is joined by 122 other college football lineman. To be named to the watch list the player needed to garner All-American or All-Conference honors in 2001.



Outland Trophy

The Outland Trophy is presented to college football's outstanding interior lineman.

The trophy is named after Penn State great, John Outland, who wasa an All-America lineman during the turn of the century.

The Outland Trophy winner is selected by the Football Writers Association of America All-America Committee. Three finalists will be selected in late November and the winner will be announced at the ESPN College Football Awards Show on December 12.

DT Eric Manning is one of the 63 lineman named to the preseason watch list.



Jim Thorpe Award

The Jim Thorpe Award is presented to college football's best defensive back.

The Jim Thorpe Award is named after one of the greatest athletes ever, Jim Thorpe. Thorpe was an Olympic champion and a professional football player for the Canton Bulldogs. In 1912, he won gold medals in the decathlon and pentatathlon, while receiving All-American honors for playing football.

Thorpe was elected as the first president of what became the NFL in 1920, and became the first superstar of the league.

A screening comittee composed of former players, coaches, journalists will determine the winner. Three finalists will be selected by the committee before the December 12 ESPN College Football Awards Show, where the 2002 Jim Thorpe Award winner will be announced.

Since 1986, only two Pac-10 players have won the Jim Thorpe Award, Mark Carrier of USC in 1989 and Darryll Lewis of Arizona in 1990.

CB Dennis Weathersby was named to the preseason watch list.



Butkus Award

The Butkus Award is presented to college football's best linebacker.

The Butkus Award is named after the ferocious Chicago Bear linebacker, Dick Butkus. Butkus earned NFL Rookie of the Year honors in 1965, and soon built a reputation as one of toughest, fiercest competitors in football. During his nine years in the NFL, Butkus played in eight Pro Bowls. He was inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame in 1979.

The Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando presents the annual Butkus award. A selection committe of various sports writers from the United States, including the Oregonian's, Ken Goe, will select the 2002 winner.

The selection committe will pick ten semi-finalists in October and the three finalists in November. The 2002 Butkus Award winner will be announced in December at the Downtown Athletic Club in Orlando.

LB Richard Seigler and LB Nick Barnett are two of the 67 candidates on the 2002 Butkus watch list.



Bronko Nagurski Trophy

The Nagurski Trophy is awarded to college football's best defensive player.

Bronko Nagurski was a legendary college football player who garnered All-American honors on both sides of the ball in 1929, the only player ever to do so. He went on to play with the Chicago Bears and eventually was inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club presents the annual Nagurski Trophy. In November, members of the Football Writers Association of America will choose five semi-finalists.

The 2002 Butkus Award winner will be announced on December 9th in Charlotte.

DT Eric Mannning and CB Dennis Weathersby are two of the 69 candidates on the 2002 Nagurski watch list.


Top of page

BeaverBlitz Top Stories