Perry named to Outland Trophy Watch List

For the second consecutive year, Oregon State University offensive guard Jeremy Perry has been selected to the Outland Trophy Watch List, the Football Writers Association has announced. The award recognizes the top interior lineman in college football.

Perry is a 6-2, 324-pound guard who was selected to the 2006 Pac-10 Conference First Team and 2005 Pac-10 co-Freshman of the Year. The native of Hau'ula, Hawai'i has started 23 career games for the Beavers, but missed last December's Sun Bowl after suffering a knee injury near the end of the team's 35-32 win at No. 24 Hawai'i Dec. 2.

The designation is the second honor for Perry this season; he was previously named to the Lombardi  Award Watch List (top lineman or linebacker). The recipients will be announced Dec. 6 at the ESPN Football Awards Show in Orlando.

The 2006 recipient was Wisconsin's Joe Thomas.

Other OSU players named to preseason watch lists include center Kyle DeVan (Rimington Trophy - outstanding center), Derrick Doggett (Nagurski Trophy - top defensive player) and defensive end Jeff Van Orsow (Lott Trophy - top defensive player).

Receiver Sammie Stroughter (Biletnikoff Award - top receiver, Randy Moss Return Man Award - top return man), and running back Yvenson Bernard (Doak Walker Award - top running back) will most likely be named to watch lists in the coming months.

Two Oregon State players have earned major awards under head coach Mike Riley: receiver Mike Hass (Biletnikoff Award - nation's top receiver) and kicker Alexis Serna (Lou Groza Award - nation's top place kicker) both grabbed trophies in 2005.



BeaverBlitz Top Stories