Nine players named to academic team

Junior cornerback Keenan Lewis is one of nine football student-athletes to be honored on the Pacific-10 Conference All-Academic Football Team, it was announced Tuesday by the league office.

Lewis, a junior cornerback from New Orleans, is a first team honoree for the second consecutive year. He holds over a 3.00 cumulative GPA in exercise and sport science.

Second team honorees include sophomore Taylor Kavanaugh and juniors Austin Hall, Pernnell Booth and Andy Levitre. Senior Kyle DeVan, junior Adam Speer and sophomores Howard Croom and Gabe Miller were selected honorable mention. DeVan, Speer and Levitre have been members of the team three straight years, and Kavanaugh twice.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, the student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 cumulative grade point average and be either a starter or significant substitute. True-freshmen and first-year transfers are not eligible for the team.

BeaverBlitz Top Stories