Five team captains announced

THIS FALL, FIVE Oregon State football players will head towards midfield for the coin toss as Mike Riley has announced the team captains, as voted on by the players, for the 2009 season. Four of the five are seniors with two coming from the defensive side of the ball and three from the offensive side. And when was the last time you saw two quarterbacks be named captains?

The defense will be represented by outside linebacker Keaton Kristick and defensive tackle Stephen Paea while the offense will be represented by quarterbacks Sean Canfield and Lyle Moevao and offensive guard Gregg Peat.

Kristick, a Lott Trophy candidate, is the team's top returning tackler with 82 stops, including 14.0 for loss and four pass breakups.  Paea returns at defensive tackle after starting 12 of 13 games last year grabbing 41 tackles including 11 for loss and a returning high five sacks. Of the five captains, Paea is the only junior.

Canfield turned in a strong spring throwing for 549 yards and eight touchdowns in two spring games; he will open up fall camp atop the depth chart.  Moevao watched spring drills from the sidelines as he recovered from right shoulder surgery, but is expected to be completely healed before fall camp starts in early August. 

Peat is the team's most experienced offensive lineman with 15 career starts, including a team high 14 straight, and will line up at right guard.

Last year's team captains were receiver Sammie Stroughter, defensive end Victor Butler, offensive tackle Andy Levitre and cornerback Brandon Hughes.

BeaverBlitz Top Stories