Beavs headed to Fort Worth for NCAA Regional

OREGON STATE RETURNED to postseason play it was announced on Monday, earning inclusion into college baseball's 64-team championship field. The two-time national champion Beavers (2006 and 2007) will open against Texas A&M (36-22) on Friday at 12 p.m. PT in the Fort Worth regional.

Oregon State (35-17, 15-12 Pac-10) is seeded No. 3 in the Fort Worth regional and will face the second seeded Aggies in the first game on Friday at noon. The two other teams in the Fort Worth, Texas regional, TCU and Wright State, will meet at 5 p.m PT.

Each of the NCAA's 16 regionals feature four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals run from Friday to Monday. Super-regionals then follow, with the College World Series starting June 13 in Omaha.

Oregon State will be making their 10th all-time trip to the NCAA Championship and their fourth in the last five seasons.

In its three most recent NCAA Tournament appearances in 2005, 2006 and 2007, the Beavers advanced to the College World Series in Omaha each time and consecutive national titles in '06 and '07 -- Oregon State became just the fifth program in NCAA history to win consecutive NCAA championships.

Texas A&M, (36-22 record, 14-13 Big 12), went 6-6 in their final 12 games. OSU and Texas A&M last met in '07, splitting two meetings.

TCU, the regional's No. 1 seed, finished the regular season with a 36-16 overall record and 15-5 mark in the Mountain West Conference.

Wright State is the regional's No. 4 seed after winning the Horizon League. Wright State finished the 2009 season with a 33-28 overall record and a 14-12 mark in league games.

Three Pac-10 teams made the NCAA field: Arizona State, Washington State and Oregon State.

The full 64-team bracket is available here .

BeaverBlitz Top Stories