BYU added to 2011 and 2012 schedules

OREGON STATE CONTINUED the upgrade of its non-conference schedule as it added BYU to its 2011 and 2012 schedules. The first meeting takes place in Reser Stadium, Sept. 3, 2011 with the Beavers hitting the road to Provo, UT Sept. 1, 2012.

The 2011 meeting will be the tenth between the two programs in a series that dates back to 1955. OSU has won five of the previous nine meetings, but lost to the Cougars in last December's MAACO Bowl Las Vegas 44-20.

OSU and BYU have played six previous occasions in Corvallis, with the Beavers victorious four times, including a 24-19 upset win over the then No. 20 Cougars in 1977.

"I have great admiration for the BYU program and what Coach (Bronco) Mendenhall and the Cougars have accomplished," head coach Mike Riley said. "I think both teams enjoyed being around each other at the Vegas Bowl last December and I know our team will look forward to these games in the future."

Mendenhall was a starting safety and two-year letterman (1986-87) at Oregon State under then head coach Dave Kragthorpe. He later served as a graduate assistant coach at OSU (1989-90) and returned to the Beaver sideline as the defensive line coach (1995) and defensive coordinator (1996). In addition, BYU offensive line coach Mark Weber held the same position at OSU (1987-90).

The addition of BYU to the 2011 schedule leaves OSU with one date yet to be filled in the 13-game slate. The Beavers also have non-conference outings Sept. 10 at Wisconsin and Dec. 3 at Hawai'i, and are seeking an opponent for either Sept. 17 or Nov. 19. The 13-game schedule falls under the NCAA's exemption rule that allows a team to play an additional contest over the 12 dates when traveling to Hawai'i. OSU also played a 13-game schedule in 2006, including a trip to Hawai'i.

The 2012 non-conference schedule is complete with a trip to BYU and home dates with Wisconsin and Boise State.

Visit the schedules page for the current schedule and future schedules.


2011 Schedule
Sept. 3 BYU
Sept. 10 at Wisconsin
Sept. 17 Open
Sept. 24 at California
Oct. 1 Arizona
Oct. 8 Stanford
Oct. 15 at Arizona State
Oct. 22 at Washington State
Oct. 29 UCLA
Nov. 5 at USC
Nov. 12 Washington
Nov. 19 Open
Nov. 26 at Oregon
Dec. 3 at Hawaii


2012 Schedule
Sept. 1 at BYU
Sept. 8 Wisconsin
Sept. 15 Boise State
Sept. 22 Arizona State
Sept. 29 at Arizona
Oct. 6 Washington State
Oct. 13 at Washington
Oct. 20 at UCLA
Oct. 27 California
Nov. 3 USC
Nov. 10 at Stanford
Nov. 17 Bye
Nov. 24 Oregon

BeaverBlitz Top Stories