OSU in field of 64, play in Florida regional

OREGON STATE (31-22) was selected Monday morning as one of 64 teams who will vie for college baseball's national championship. A 3 seed in their four team bracket, the Beavs' postseason road begins in Gainsville, Florida where they'll face off against on Friday against 2 seed Florida Atlantic (35-22).

Also in the Beavs' bracket, 4 seed Bethune-Cookman (35-20) will take on national and 1 seed Florida (42-15), also on Friday.

In the 64-team college baseball postseason, the winner of each four-team, double elimination regional moves on to the second tier, the Super Regionals.

From there, the 16 surviving teams play a best of three series to determine the eight schools who move onto the College World Series in Omaha.

The CWS is similar to the regionals, with two double-elimination brackets of four teams each.

The bracket winners then meet in a best-of-three final to be crowned National Champion.

Oregon State won the College Baseball World Series in 2006 and 2007, becoming only the fifth team in NCAA history to win back-to-back national championships, (and first since the super regional format was implemented).

Oregon State has made the NCAA tournament field 10 times, including four of the last five years.

A record 8 teams from the Pac-10 were selected to the field of 64 -- Arizona, Arizona State, Cal, Oregon State, Oregon, Stanford, UCLA and Washington State. The previous high mark from the Pac-10 was five teams.

BeaverBlitz Top Stories