Ducks' Altman Wants Team to Play Hard

The Oregon Ducks held the 2010 Media Day for the Men's Basketball Team and new Head Coach Dana Altman addressed media about the upcoming season his team is about to embark upon. The Ducks will have four new faces on the roster including Martin Seiferth, Jonathan Loyd, Tyrone Nared and Jay-R Stowbridge.

Many pundits have predicted the Ducks will finish dead last in the Pac-10 conference race this season. Altman acknowledges that there have been "road blocks and obstacles," but wants his team to play hard and compete. If the Ducks do that, according to Altman, the "wins will take care of themselves."

The Ducks have two seniors on the roster. Joevan Catron returns after sitting out last season and new comer Stowbridge give the team experience. Also returning is junior Malcolm Armstead, the talented point guard and sophomore E.J. Singler, who may be the face of the Ducks for 2010-11. Others returning are juniors Nick Fearn, Garrett Sim, John Elorriaga, Jeremy Jacob and Teondre Williams.

Altman indicated that he was disappointed that a couple of the players from last year's roster did not stay at Oregon after he took over, but the coach preferred to concentrate on those players that stayed with the program. Oregon lost six players from last year's squad beyond Tajuan Porter, who graduated. Michael Dunigan signed a contract to play professionally in Israel. LeKendric Longmire is academically ineligible. Drew Wiley, Matt Humphrey, Josh Crittle and Jamil Wilson all transferred following the dismissal of former head coach Ernie Kent.

Oregon will begin play on Friday, Nov. 12th when they play North Dakota State in McArthur Court in the first game of the BTI Invitational. The highlight of the out of conference schedule is when the Ducks face Duke in Portland at the Rose Garden on Saturday, November 27, 2010.

Conference play starts on Thursday, December 30, when Arizona plays the Ducks in Mac Court. The final game in the old arena will be Saturday, January 1, 2011 against Arizona State. After that all home games will be played at Matthew Knight Arena or Matt Court.

eDuck Top Stories