James Named Semifinalist For Maxwell Award

For Oregon sophomore running back LaMichael James, the season continues to get sweeter. In the midst of a record breaking 2010 campaign and a 9-0 start to the season, James was named as one of 16 semifinalists for one of college football's most prestigious awards.


EUGENE, Ore. – University of Oregon running back LaMichael James has been named one of 16 semifinalists for the 74th annual Maxwell Award, presented to the collegiate player of the year.

James, a redshirt sophomore from Texarkana, Texas, has 1,331 rushing yards and 18 total touchdowns in eight games to lead the nation in rushing (166.4 yards per game) and scoring average (13.5), and ranks second with 183.4 all-purpose yards per contest.

Last season's Pac-10 offensive freshman of the year has the top three rushing performances in the conference this year, running for 257 yards vs. then-No. 9 Stanford, 239 at No. 24 USC and 227 vs. Portland State.

In less than two seasons, James ranks third all-time at Oregon with 2,877 rushing yards. His 31 career rushing touchdowns, in 21 games, are the second-most in school history.

Last year's Maxwell Award was won by former University of Texas quarterback Colt McCoy. Other past winners include Tony Dorsett, Marcus Allen, Barry Sanders, Peyton Manning and Drew Brees.

This year's recipient will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9. Three finalists will be announced on Nov. 22 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner on Friday, March 4, 2011 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Follow Chris Courtney on Twitter at eDuckCCourtney

eDuck Top Stories