Kelly 2010 Walter Camp Coach of the Year

The country's 120 FBS head coaches and sports information directors today named Oregon Head Football Coach Chip Kelly as the Walter Camp 2010 Coach of the Year.

Chip Kelly is in his second year at Oregon led his team to a 12-0 record and was the No. 1 team in the country for six weeks, but dropped by a few percentage points and are ranked second in the BCS standing. Oregon will face Auburn in the BCS Championship game on January 10, 2011 in Glendale, Arizona.

Kelly is only the third coach in the history of the Pac-10 to be named the Walter Camp Coach of the Year since 1967 when the award was first given and the first to an Oregon coach.

Oregon had the best scoring average this season at 49.3 points for game and were second in total offense at 537.5 yards per contest. The Ducks only allowed 18.4 ppg on defense, which ranked 14th nationally in that category.

A few weeks ago Kelly was also honored with the Eddie Robinson and Sporting News national coach of the year awards plus earning his second-straight Pac-10 coaching honor. He is currently a finalist for the Paul "Bear" Bryant Award and Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year.

Kelly will be honored at the annual the Walter Camp Foundation awards banquet held at Yale University Commons in New Haven, Conn., on January 15, 2011.

eDuck Top Stories