University to Honor NCAA Champions Thursday

EUGENE, Ore. – The 2011 NCAA champion indoor women's track and field team will be honored by University President Richard Lariviere in a public ceremony Thursday at noon at the Erb Memorial Union amphitheater.

The two-time defending national champs will be recognized by President Lariviere and Associate Athletic Director Vin Lananna. Team captains will speak as well. Students, faculty, staff and members of the community are invited to attend the free event.

Members of the team expected to be in attendance include two-time NCAA pentathlon champion Brianne Theisen, 2011 NCAA winner in both the mile and 3,000 meters Jordan Hasay and All-Americans Becca Friday, Melissa Gergel, Anne Kesselring, Chizoba Okodogbe, Amber Purvis, Laura Roesler, Mandy White, Michele Williams and Jamesha Youngblood, in addition to many others.

The women are coming off a thrilling come-from-behind win at last weekend's Pacific-10 Conference Track & Field Championships. It was the Ducks' third consecutive league title.

The 2011 NCAA Indoor Track & Field championship was the 18th overall in UO history, and the fifth for a women's team.

eDuck Top Stories