Ducks Collect 36 All-America Awards

NEW ORLEANS, La. – NCAA champions Mac Fleet, English Gardner and Elijah Greer were among the 36 all-America awards earned by Oregon student-athletes, as announced Monday by the The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

In addition, Jordan Hasay won her school record 18th all-America certificate, while De'Anthony Thomas and Elizabeth Brenner both became rare two-sport all-Americans for the Ducks.

Fleet earned first team honors for his national title in the 1,500 meters, while Gardner did likewise for the women's 100 and Greer for the men's 800.

Brenner is now a first team all-American in both volleyball and javelin following her eighth place finish at the national championships. She is the first woman in school history to earn all-America honors in track and volleyball.

Meanwhile, Jordan Hasay finished third in the 5,000 meters to wrap up her Oregon tenure with an astonishing 18 career all-America awards.

Other first team selections for the women include Laura Roesler in the 800 meters, Phyllis Francis in the 400, Jenna Prandini in the 100, and both relay teams – Francis, Gardner, Prandini and Chizoba Okodogbe on the 4x100 relay and Prandini, Okodogbe, Roesler and Francis on the 4x400 squad.

For the men, in addition to Fleet and Greer, first team selections included Sam Crouser for the javelin, Greg Skipper for the hammer, Johnathan Cabral for the 110 meter hurdles, Parker Stinson for the 10,000 meters and the 4x400 meter relay team of Kevin Anding, Mike Berry, Arthur Delaney and Jack Galpin.

Thomas, as member of the 4x100 meter relay team, led the list of second team selections in joining a very elite club. He and NFL Hall of Famer Mel Renfro are the only Ducks to earn all-America status in both football and track and field.

Joining Thomas on the second team were his 4x100 teammates, Dior Mathis, Arthur Delaney and B.J. Kelley, as well as Berry in the 400, Dakotah Keys in the decathlon and Chad Noelle in the 1,500.

The second team for the women consisted of Megan Patrignelli in the steeplechase, Okodogbe in the 400, and Becca Friday and Anne Kesselring in the 1,500 meters.

eDuck Top Stories