Three On Top Awards Lists

According to a media release from the Oregon Athletic Department, three current members of the Oregon Football Team, Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Marcus Mariota and De'Anthony Thomas have been added to various watch lists for the upcoming season. The Maxwell Club selection committee made the selections.

Junior cornerback Ifo Ekpre-Olomu has been selected to the watch list for the 19th annual Bednarik Award, presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year, while sophomore quarterback Marcus Mariota and junior all-purpose standout DeAnthony Thomas have been chosen for consideration for the 77th annual Maxwell Award, given to the nation's College Player of the Year.

Thomas was one of seven semifinalists for the Maxwell Award in 2012.

Ekpre-Olomu, a first team All-Pac-12 player led the conference in passes defended in 2012 (20), tied for the league lead in forced fumbles (6) and was tied for fifth in interceptions (4). Ekpre-Olomu was also a third-team All-American.

Mariota was the Pac-12 Offensive Freshman-of-the-Year along with being a first-team all-conference. Mariota finished seventh in the country in passing efficiency and leading the conference in completion percentage (68.5), connecting on 230 of 336 passes. Mariota hit on 32 touchdown passes, which was one shy of equaling the Oregon school record and he also finished second on the school's single-season list in total offense (3,429 yards).

Thomas, was also named to the Paul Hornung Award last watch list last week for college football's most versatile player, was fourth in the conference in kickoff returns (24.3 avg.) and touchdowns (18) last season in addition to fifth in all-purpose yards average (135.2).

Semifinalists for both awards will be announced on Oct. 29 while the finalists will be unveiled on Nov. 25. The awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12.

eDuck Top Stories