Track & Field Greats Head Hall of Fame Class

EUGENE – One of the longest-tenured coaches in the illustrious legacy of the University of Oregon's track & field program, an unsung catalyst who helped lay the foundation for Track Town USA, and one of the school's first women's NCAA women's team champion are among the headliners to be inducted into the University of Oregon's 22nd Athletics Hall of Fame class.

The class will be introduced during the weekend of the Ducks' Oct. 19 home football game vs. Washington State.

Former Oregon women's track and cross country head coach Tom Heinonen (1975-03), long-time track & field administrator Bob Newland Sr. (1958-86) and the Ducks' 1987 NCAA champion women's cross country team head a group that have all been instrumental in the unprecedented success currently enjoyed by the University's athletics department.

They will be joined by former football standout and four-time track & field All-American Latin Berry (1986-90), two-time Pac-8 Conference men's golf champion Craig Griswold (1970-73), and one of the school's most respected assistant football coaches in recent memory, Joe Schaffeld (1974-97).

The six Oregon Hall-of-Fame inductees will formally join an elite collection of the University's former athletics standouts at an Oct. 18 banquet in Autzen Stadium's Club at Autzen, before being introduced at halftime of the Ducks' Pac-12 conference football game the following day against the Cougars.

To be eligible for induction into Oregon's Athletics Hall-of-Fame, former athletes, coaches and administrators associated with the University must have departed the University for a minimum of 10 years.

Berry epitomized the notion of a two-sport standout, with the former Milwaukie High School standout earning football All-America acclaim as a three-year starting fullback as well as a five-time Pac-10 Conference track & field champion (long and triple jumps).

Griswold loomed as the school's lone first-team All-America golfer during a 38-year span (1972), as well as a three-time all-conference honoree (1970, ‘72, and '73).

Heinonen's 28-year Oregon tenure trailed only that of Bill Hayward's 44-year stint overseeing the school's track program as the eight-time Pac-10 women's track & field coach-of-the-year and two-time NCAA honoree guided the Ducks' to a trio of national team titles and six conference championships.

Schaffeld spent his entire coaching career in the state in the high school and university football ranks. The Vale, Ore., native and member of the school's 1958 Rose Bowl team encompassed three seasons as the Ducks' defensive coordinator (1983-85) among his 23 years as his alma mater's defensive line coach. Since retiring from coaching following the 1997 season, he has remained a part-time employee of the athletics department for the past 15 years.

Oregon's 1987 NCAA women's championship cross country team became what was at that time only the school's third women's national team titlist as well as the second women's NCAA cross country gold medalist. Included on that team were All-Americans Annette (Hand) Peters, who previously was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1998 on her individual merits, Penny (Graves) Hewlett and Liz Wilson.

Newland, who along with former Oregon track coach Bill Bowerman, was instrumental in Oregon hosting three Olympic Trials (1972, '76 and '80), five NCAA championships, and helped found the Oregon Track Club. He will be inducted into the Hall of Fame as an individual who has made "extraordinary contributions toward the success of the U of O athletics programs."

The inductees will join the previous 177 elite individuals and 24 teams who have been selected as part of the school's athletics showcase that originated in 1992.

For more information regarding the Hall-of-Fame activities please contact the athletics department's Duck Athletic Fund at 541-346-5433.

eDuck Top Stories