Mariota, Marshall and Tyner on Maxwell List

Three Oregon players including junior quarterback Marcus Mariota, junior running back Byron Marshall and sophomore running back Thomas Tyner have been placed on the 2014 Maxwell Award watch list by the Maxwell Football Club (MFC) on Monday as announced by the MFC official website.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937.

Marcus Mariota is entering his third season as the starting quarterback for the Ducks. He compiled 4,380 yards of total offense last season (3,665 passing, 715 rushing) scoring nine yards rushing the ball and threw 31 TD passes. Mariota started all 13 games in 2013, leading the Ducks to a 11-2 record and a win over Texas in the Alamo Bowl.

Byron Marshall rushed for 1,038 yards while mostly backing up the departed De'Anthony Thomas, and crossed the goal line 14 times with a long run of 49 yards.

Joining Marshall as part of the potent rushing combination in the later part of the 2014 season was Thomas Tyner who ended the season 711 yards and nine touchdowns including a career high in rushing of 140 yards against Oregon State and also had 101 yards rushing against Washington State.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential.

The formal presentations of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Revel Casino Hotel Atlantic City on March 6, 2015.

eDuck Top Stories