Ducks and Buffs in the Fiesta.

Second ranked Oregon will play third ranked Colorado on New Year's Day in the Tostito's Fiesta Bowl. The Ducks are 10-1 after having won the Pac-10 conference outright. The selection of Nebraska to play against Miami in the Rose Bowl for the National Championship has caused much controversy. An interesting question that is being asked if Nebraska beats Miami can the winner of the Fiesta bowl claim part of the National Championship?

The 2002 Fiesta Bowl will be the third time the Ducks and Buffs have met in post season play. Colorado defeated Oregon in the 1996 Cotton Bowl 38-6 and the Buffs beat the Ducks in the 1998 Aloha Bowl 51-43. Since the Aloha Bowl, Oregon has won two straight bowl games. The Ducks defeated Minnesota 24-20 in the 1999 Sun Bowl, and then defeated Texas 35-30 in the 2000 Holiday Bowl. Meanwhile, Colorado rebounded from a 3-8 record last season, and are currently 9-2 after destroying Nebraska 62-36.

The Fiesta Bowl is the tenth bowl since 1989 the Ducks will have appeared in. The Ducks are 4-5 in bowl appearances since the 1989 Independence Bowl.

The Oregon bowl appearances and results:

2000 Holiday Bowl, Oregon defeated Texas 35-30.
1999 Sun Bowl, Oregon defeated Minnesota 24-20.
1998 Aloha Bowl, Colorado defeated Oregon 51-43
1997 Las Vegas Bowl, Oregon defeated Air Force 41-13
1996 Cotton Bowl, Colorado defeated Oregon 38-6.
1995 Rose Bowl, Penn State defeated Oregon 38-20.
1992 Independence Bowl, Wake Forest defeated Oregon 39-35.
1990 Freedom Bowl, Colorado State defeated Oregon 32-31.
1989 Independence Bowl, Oregon defeated Tulsa 27-24.
1963 Sun Bowl, Oregon defeated SMU 21-14.
1960 Liberty Bowl, Penn State defeated Oregon 41-12.
1958 Rose Bowl, Ohio State defeated Oregon 10-7.
1949 Cotton Bowl, SMU defeated Oregon 21-13.
1920 Rose Bowl, Harvard defeated Oregon 7-6.
1917 Rose Bowl, Oregon defeated Pennsylvania 14-0.

eDuck Top Stories