Ngata Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year

Junior defensive tackle Haloti Ngata was named Pat Tillman Co-Defensive Player of the Year for the Pac-10 Conference on Monday. The honor is the first time an Oregon defensive player has been named Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year.

Ngata, recorded 59 tackles, 32 solo. In addition, he posted nine tackles for losses including three-quarterback sacks and blocked two kicks. Ngata has been named one of three finalists for the Outland Trophy, which is awarded to the best interior lineman in college football, and one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, honoring the best defensive player in the country. Ngata was also named to the Pac-10 First Team Defense, along with his Duck teammate senior cornerback Justin Phinisee.

Senior wide receiver Demetrius Williams was selected Pac-10Second Team Offense as was junior center Enoka Lucas.

Three Ducks were placed on the Second Team Defense, senior linebacker Anthony Trucks, senior cornerback Aaron Gipson and junior safety J.D. Nelson.

ROV Patrick Chung, Fr.; QB Kellen Clemens, Sr.; TE Tim Day, Sr.; WR James Finley, Jr.; DE Devan Long, Sr.; OT Max Unger, Fr.; TB Terrence Whitehead, Sr., were all listed as Honorable Mention.

eDuck Top Stories