Dixon Named NCAA Top VIII Award Recipient

INDIANAPOLIS – University of Oregon senior quarterback Dennis Dixon has been chosen by the NCAA Honors Committee as one of the recipients of this year's NCAA Top VIII Award.

The selection, which is the National Collegiate Athletic Association's top award given to current student-athletes, is bestowed upon only eight students annually from around the country and is based on 50 percent athletic achievement, 25 percent academic performance, as well as 25 percent character and leadership skills.

All eight recipients will be honored Jan. 13 as part of the 2008 NCAA Convention in Nashville, Tenn.

Dixon becomes only the school's fifth student-athlete to be presented with the award and the first football player ever to earn the distinction since the honor originated in 1973. Former Oregon track & field Olympian Kelly Blair was the university's last recipient of the honor in 1995, joining previous award winners Kathy Hayes (track) and Sue Harbour (volleyball) from 1986, and Dub Myers (track and cross country) in 1987.

The Oregon quarterback joins Rachel Buehler (Stanford - soccer), Roberto Castro (Georgia Tech - golf), Sarah Pavan (Nebraska - volleyball), Ben Wildman-Tobriner (Stanford - swimming), Lisa Winkle (Calvin College - basketball and track), Jamie Wolf (Clarion - diving) and Sarah Zerzan (Willamette - cross country and track) as this year's eight recipients.

The Pacific-10 Conference's offensive player of the year and ESPN the Magazine' academic all-district honoree previously was recognized as a National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete recipient in addition to being one of three finalists for the Maxwell Award (given to the nation's college player of the year) and the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (given to the nation's top collegiate quarterback).

Dixon has completed requirements for his undergraduate degree from the University of Oregon with a 3.33 gpa in sociology.

eDuck Top Stories