28 Ducks for Academic Accomplishments

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – Twenty-eight of Oregon men's and women's track and field student-athletes were selected by the Pacific-10 Conference as all-academic honorees, the league announced Monday.

The list of Ducks earning academic all-first team included Joaquin Chapa, Scott Penny, Scott Wall and Alex Wolff for the men and Liddell Steele and Leah Worthen for the women.

Pac-10 5,000 meter champion Nicole Blood led the women on the second team, which also included Lucy Cridland, Kalindra McFadden, Kara Meeuwsen and Sarah Pearson. The men's second team selections were Steven Johnson and Mike McGrath.

Among the Ducks receiving honorable mention certificates were Zach Ancell, Jared Huske, A.J. O'Connell, Chris Winter and Colin Witter-Tilton for the men and Pac-10 400 meter champion Keshia Baker, Ashley Bridenbeck, Zoe Buckman, Erin Funkhouser, Brooke Giuffre, Kasey Harwood, Jasmine Kelly, Megan Maloney, Ashley McCrea and Irie Searcy for the women.

eDuck Top Stories