Reed Named Semi-finalist for Lott Trophy

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – Oregon's Nick Reed has been named one of eight semifinalists for the fifth annual Lott Trophy®, it was announced Wednesday.

The 6-2, 255-pound senior from Trabuco Canyon, Calif., is the lone Pac-10 player to make the list. He currently leads the conference and ranks 12th nationally in sacks (0.90 per game), and is second in the Pac-10 in tackles for loss (1.45) behind teammate Will Tukuafu. Overall, Reed has 14.5 tackles for loss, 10 quarterback hurries and five fumble recoveries through 10 games in 2008.

Off the field, he is a two-time Academic All-District selection and is seeking his second straight first team Academic All-America award. A History major, who has already completed his degree requirements, carries a 3.44 GPA and was also a semifinalist for the Draddy Award this season.

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, the Lott Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its fifth year, the Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the Lott award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

David Pollack of Georgia, DeMeco Ryans of Alabama, Dante Hughes of Cal and Glenn Dorsey of LSU were the winners of the first four Lott Trophies. Georgia, Alabama, Cal and LSU each received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds. In four years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated $450,000 to various charities, in addition to the universities.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and Legends Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches.

Four finalists will be announced Nov. 26 with all four attending the annual gala black-tie banquet in Newport Beach Dec. 14 where the winner will be announced. The winning player's university will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund and each of the three other finalists will receive $5,000 for their school's general scholarship fund.

This year's keynote speaker will be long-time college football announcer Keith Jackson.

2008 Lott Trophy Semifinalists: Eric Berry, SO., S, Tennessee; Aaron Curry, Sr., LB, Wake Forest; James Laurinaitis, Sr., LB, Ohio State; Scott McKillop, Sr., LB, Pittsburgh; Brit Miller, Sr., LB, Illinois; Brian Orakpo, Sr., DE, Texas; Nick Reed, Sr., DE, Oregon; Myron Rolle, Jr., S, Florida State.

eDuck Top Stories