Blount & Masoli Named to Maxwell Watch List

EUGENE – University of Oregon senior running back LaGarrette Blount and junior quarterback Jeremiah Masoli were among 55 players named to the watch list for the 73rd Maxwell Award, honoring college football's player of the year.

Blount, who was previously included on the watch list for the Doak Walker Award as the nation's top running back, and Masoli, who is included on the preliminary ledger for Davey O'Brien as the top collegiate quarterback in the country, were among the 55 players included on the watch list, based on their 2008 performances, as announced by Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski.

The award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America every year since 1937.

Masoli has received near-unanimous acclaim as the Pacific-10 Conference's top returning quarterback heading into the 2009 campaign after completing better than 57 percent of his passes for 1,744 yards and 13 touchdowns a year ago. He also established a school record for most yards rushing by an Oregon quarterback (718 yards).

Starting the final 10 games last season, he engineered wins in Oregon's final four games, including dominating performances in victories over Oregon State and Oklahoma State in his final two appearances.

Blount came off the bench to rush for 1,002 yards and a school-record 17 touchdowns to lead the Pac-10 in points scored (104) and earn all-conference honorable mention.

The Ducks' tandem were among eight players from the Pac-10 included among the nominees, while only Oklahoma (4) and Oklahoma State (3) had more representatives among the early watch list candidates.

Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 4, with three finalists to be determined Nov. 23.

eDuck Top Stories