Ducks Host 2012 NCAA's in PDX

INDIANAPOLIS – The University of Oregon is one of eight institutions selected to host the 2012 NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Championships first and second round, according to an an-nouncement released Monday by the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Committee.

The first and second-round action is scheduled to take place March 15 and 17 (Thursday and Saturday) in the Rose Garden in Portland, Ore.

Oregon, in conjunction with the Oregon Sports Authority, the Rose Quarter and Travel Portland, successfully hosted the first and second round of the 2009 NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Championships in Portland March 19 and 21, marking the first time the tournament had taken place in the state of Oregon in 25 years.

"We are thrilled that the University of Oregon has been chosen to take part in the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Championships in 2012 and look at the awarding of the site in Portland as a testimony to the outstanding work accomplished by a lot of people in both Eugene and Portland last March," Oregon Director of Athletics Mike Bellotti said. "This is one of the premier sporting events throughout the country every year and a tremendous affirmation of the support that Portland, as well as the entire state of Oregon, provided this event less than a year ago. It is our hope that we are able to play a vital role in the NCAA Basketball Tournament of a regular basis for many years to come."

Those same sentiments were echoed by the Oregon Sports Authority in Portland.

"We are absolutely ecstatic to have once again earned the privilege of hosting March Madness and the NCAA Men's Basketball Championship," said Drew Mahalic, CEO of the Oregon Sports Authority. "It is a testament to the combined efforts of the University of Oregon, Oregon Sports Authority, Rose Quarter and Travel Portland following the incredibly successful NCAA Tournament event earlier this year."

Portland was one of eight sites selected to host the first and second-round competition in 2012, along with Albuquerque, N.M.; Columbus, Ohio; Greensboro, N.C.; Louisville, Ky.; Nashville, Tenn.; Omaha, Neb.; and Pittsburgh, Pa. Atlanta, Boston, Phoenix and St. Louis were selected to serve as the regional hosts for the tournament, while the Final Four will be held in the Louisiana Superdome in New Orleans.

eDuck Top Stories