Title Trophy Named for Paterno

The winner of the Big Ten's championship game will be presented with the Stagg-Paterno Trophy. The conference also announced division names and unveiled a new logo Monday.

Monday was a busy day for the Big Ten, as the conference released a new logo, the names of its upcoming football divisions and the names of a host of new football trophies.

The conference begins division play in football next season, with the addition of Nebraska to the Big Ten.

The “Legends” division will include: Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska and Northwestern.

The “Leaders” division will include: Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin.

Penn State figures prominently in the naming of the new trophies. The winner of the Big Ten champioinship game will receive the Stagg-Paterno Trophy, named in honor of the former coach at Chicago and the Nittany Lions’ longtime coach.

Former Penn Staters Courtney Brown and Ted Kwalik are also being honored on the awards that will be presented to the Big Ten’s top defensive end and tight end, respectively.

Here is a rundown of the the new trophies, which will be presented for the first time next year.

Championship Game Trophies
Stagg-Paterno Championship Trophy
Amos Alonzo Stagg, Chicago
Joe Paterno, Penn State

Grange-Griffin Championship Game MVP
Harold Edward "Red" Grange, Illinois
Archie Griffin, Ohio State

Postgraduate Awards
Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award
Gerald R. Ford, Michigan
Nile Kinnick, Iowa

Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award
Tony Dungy, Minnesota
Anthony Thompson, Indiana

Annual Awards/Trophies
Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year
Otto Graham, Northwestern
Eddie George, Ohio State

Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year
Bronislau "Bronko" Nagurski, Minnesota
Charles Woodson, Michigan

Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year
Wayne Woodrow "Woody" Hayes, Ohio State
Glenn Edward "Bo" Schembechler, Michigan

Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year
Darrell Thompson, Minnesota
Antwaan Randle El, Indiana

Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year
Dave Rimington, Nebraska
Orlando Pace, Ohio State

Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year
Charles Aaron "Bubba" Smith, Michigan State
Courtney Brown, Penn State

Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year
Bob Griese, Purdue
Drew Brees, Purdue

Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year
Alan Ameche, Wisconsin
Ron Dayne, Wisconsin

Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year
Jack Tatum, Ohio State
Rod Woodson, Purdue

Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year
Dick Butkus, Illinois
Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern

Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year
Pat Richter, Wisconsin
Desmond Howard, Michigan

Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year
Ted Kwalick, Penn State
Dallas Clark, Iowa

Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year
Jim Bakken, Wisconsin
Morten Andersen, Michigan State

Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year
Thomas Dwight "Dike" Eddleman, Illinois
Brandon Fields, Michigan State

Get inside coverage of your favorite team. Click here now to get started.

Fight On State Top Stories