Big Night for Nittany Lions

Penn State won honors in three of the four categories the Nittany Lions were nominated in for this year's Big Ten Network Awards.

Penn State picked up some more hardware on Monday evening as the Nittany Lions now boast the 2010-2011 Men's and Women's Teams of the Year according to the Big Ten Network.

The Big Ten and National Champion wrestling squad was named the Men's Team of the Year, beating out Ohio State basketball and Wisconsin football.

It was only fitting that the Big Ten Men's Team of the Year was headed by the Big Ten Men's Coach of the Year as Cael Sanderson won the honor over Ohio State basketball head coach Thad Matta Purdue basketball head coach Matt Painter. Sanderson ranked coaching a national championship squad "right up there, if not at the top" with the flurry of achievements he has had over his amazing wrestling career.

The Nittany Lion's volleyball team was named Big Ten Women's Team of the Year after grabbing their fourth consecutive National Title and eighth consecutive Big Ten title this past year. This is the second consecutive year the PSU volleyball squad has won this honor. PSU beat out Northwestern lacrosse and Wisconsin ice hockey for the award.

Lady Lion head coach Conquese Washington was also nominated for the Women's Coach of the Year, which Wisconsin ice hockey head coach Mark Johnson walked away with.

In it's four year history Penn State has won several Big Ten Network Awards, including the 2009 Men's Coach of the Year by Joe Paterno and the 2009 and 2010 Women's Coach of the Year by Russ Rose.


Fight On State Top Stories