Two Lions Up for Hall of Fame Honors

Penn State legends D.J. Dozier and Steve Wisniewski named to ballot for 2012 College Football Hall of Fame class.

First-team All-Americans D.J. Dozier and Steve Wisniewski have been placed on the ballot for the 2012 National Football Foundation's College Hall of Fame class.

Dozier, a Virginia native, is the only Nittany Lion to lead the squad in rushing yardage for four consecutive seasons, from 1983 to 1986. Currently he is Penn State's No. 5 career rushing yardage leader with 3,227 yards, with 25 touchdowns and an average 5.2 yards per carry. He was also instrumental in PSU's 1986 12-0 National Champion squad, scoring the Fiesta Bowl's winning touchdown over Miami.

Dozier was selected by the Minnesota Vikings in the first round of the 1987 NFL Draft and played four seasons with the Vikings and a year with the Detroit Lions. He also played baseball for the New York Mets' system.

Wisniewski, a Texas native, was a three-year starter at guard for Penn State and was one of two sophomores to start on the 1986 National Championship team, blocking for fellow nominee Dozier.

Wisniewski was the first pick in the second round of the 1989 NFL Draft by the Dallas Cowboys, who immediately traded his rights to the Los Angeles Raiders. He played for the Raiders from 1989 to 2001, and was an eight-time Pro Bowl selection and six-time first-team All-Pro selection.

Dozier and Wisniewski can join 17 former Nittany Lions and five PSU coaches in the NFF Hall of Fame. PSU's two most recent inductees were Curt Warner inducted in 2009 and Joe Paterno inducted in 2007. Here is a complete list of Penn State inductees:

Curt Warner, Halfback, 2009
Joe Paterno, Coach, 2007
Keith Dorney, Offensive Tackle, 2005
Lydell Mitchell, Running Back, 2004
Glenn Ressler, Offensive Lineman, 2001
Dave Robinson, End, 1997
Dennis Onkotz, Linebacker, 1995
John Cappelletti, Halfback, 1993
Jack Ham, Linebacker, 1990
Ted Kwalick, Tight End, 1989
Mike Reid, Defensive Tackle, 1987
Richie Lucas, Quarterback, 1986
Steve Suhey, Guard, 1985
Dexter Very, End, 1976
Shorty Miller, Quarterback, 1974
Rip Engle, Coach, 1973
Harry Wilson, Halfback, 1973
Glenn Killinger, Quarterback, 1971
Pete Mauthe, Fullback, 1957
Dick Harlow, Coach, 1954
Hugo Bezdek, Coach, 1954
Bob Higgins, Coach, 1954

To be eligible for the Hall of Fame ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-American by a national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior to nomination; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football.

Once nominated for consideration, all player candidates are submitted to one of eight District Screening Committees, which conducts a vote to determine who will appear on the ballot and represent their respective districts.


Fight On State Top Stories