Franklin Announces 25-Man Leadership Council

Group includes members of Penn State’s senior, junior, sophomore and freshman classes.

Judging by a Monday press release, there is no void of leadership within the Penn State football program. Second-year coach James Franklin announced the Nittany Lions' “2015 Leadership Council,” and it includes … drum roll, please … 25 members.

According to the latest online information, there are 103 players on Penn State's spring roster. And that means about a quarter of them are on the Leadership Council.

It includes 13 seniors, five juniors, five sophomores and two freshmen.

The Leadership Council members are: seniors Matt Baney, Tarow Barney, Kyle Carter, Da'Quan Davis, Jordan Dudas, Brandon Johnson, Ben Kline, Jordan Lucas, Angelo Mangiro, Carl Nassib, Trevor Williams, Matt Zanellato and Anthony Zettel; juniors Brandon Bell, Christian Hackenberg, Austin Johnson, Akeel Lynch and Nyeem Wartman; sophomores Adam Breneman, Jason Cabinda, Grant Haley (shown above), DaeSean Hamilton and Andrew Nelson; and freshmen Trace McSorley and Troy Reeder.

According to PSU, the council “is not only charged with leading the team, but the expectation is to also uphold the program's four core values: positive attitude, great work ethic, competitive in everything and must be willing to sacrifice. The Leadership Council meets at least twice a month in Franklin's office.”

Yes, Franklin has a very big office.

“The Leadership Council is something that is very important to us,” Franklin said. “The council gives the team a strong voice and an opportunity to positively influence change within the program. This is a group of guys who bring a variety of different views to the table. We value their opinions and trust they will drive our program's culture and core values.”

Fight On State Top Stories