Harvey Levine/FOS

Nassib Named Bednarik Semifinalist

Senior Penn State defensive end Carl Nassib named semifinalist for the Bednarik Award.

Nittany Lion defensive end Carl Nassib has been named as a semifinalist for the Bednarik Award given by the Maxwell Football Club to college football's defensive player of the year. The senior sack sensation currently leads FBS in an array of categories including:

Total sacks: 15.5
Total solo sacks: 14
Total sack yards: 99
Average sacks per game: 1.7
Total tackles for loss: 18.5
Solo tackles for loss: 17
Total tackles for loss yards: 112
Average tackles for loss per game: 2.1

Nassib has at least one sack in each game this season. His 14.5 sacks are the most by a Penn State player since 2002 when Michael Hayes grabbed 15, tying the school record by Larry Kubin set in 1979.

Penn State has more Bednarik Award recipients than any other program. Previous Nittany Lion recipients include LaVar Arrington (1999), Paul Posluszny (2005 / 2006) and Dan Connor (2007).

Finalists for the award will be announced on November 24 with the winner named during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 10. Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award include:

  • LB Kendall Beckwith, LSU
  • NT Andrew Billings, Baylor
  • DE Joey Bosa, Ohio State
  • DE Jonathan Bullard, Florida
  • DE Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State
  • S Jeremy Cash, Duke
  • LB Su’a Cravens, USC
  • DE Myles Garrett, Texas A&M
  • CB Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida
  • DE Shaq Lawson, Clemson
  • CB Jourdan Lewis, Michigan
  • LB Tyler Matakevich, Temple
  • DE Carl Nassib, Penn State
  • DT Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss
  • DE Emmanueal Ogbah, Oklahoma State
  • LB Reggie Ragland, Alabama
  • CB Jalen Ramsey, Florida State
  • DL A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama
  • LB Joe Schobert, Wisconsin
  • LB Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame

Fight On State Top Stories