Penn State

Penn State Wrestling Wins 2016 National Title

Penn State wrestling wins its fifth National Championship in six years before the NCAA finals even take place.

The Penn State wrestling squad put in another dominating performance, this time in the 2016 NCAA Wrestling Championships held in Madison Square Garden. The Nittany Lions hold 114.0 points heading into tonight's finals, which cannot be topped by any other squad.

Penn State, which already boasts a 16-0 undefeated 2016 season and Big Ten title, has continued their dominance this season. The 2016 National Championship is the Lion's fifth title in six years and the program's seventh overall. The Blue and White's recent success streak includes NCAA Championships in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014.

Heading into tonight's final session, PSU has a 28-9 overall record, picking up 22 bonus points from six majors, four technical falls and five pins. Cale Sanderson's squad has five wrestlers in the finals:

125: Nick Megaludis (Sr.) vs. Thomas Gilman - Iowa

149: Zain Rutherford (So.) vs. Brandon Sorensen - Iowa

157: Jason Nolf (RS-Fr.) vs. Isaiah Martinez - Illinois

174: Bo Nickal (RS-Fr.) vs. Myles Martin - Ohio State

197: Morgan McIntosh vs. J'Den Cox - Missouri

The last time Penn State athletics failed to have a team win an NCAA National Championship was 2006.

Fight On State Top Stories