John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

Penn State's Legacy of Super Bowl Success

Penn State's long legacy of successful alumni in the Super Bowl was extended in Super Bowl LI with lacrosse standout Chris Hogan.

Follow @PlaybookMark

Penn State has been an integral component of the Super Bowl over the past 51 years. In fact, former Nittany Lion players have been members of Super Bowl championship teams in 36 of the 51 NFL Championship games with 39 Penn State alums earning a total of 56 Super Bowl rings.

Sunday's Super Bowl LI saw PSU alum Chris Hogan pull in four receptions for 57 yards, making him the latest in the line of Nittany Lions who have found Super Bowl success. What's particularly interesting is that Hogan never played a down of football in Happy Valley, but rather was a standout lacrosse player for the Nittany Lions.

Hogan not only helped the New England Patriots win its fifth Super Bowl title, but also set the franchise playoff receiving record in the AFC title game leading up to the NFL Championship with 12 catches for 180 yards and two touchdowns in he victory over the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Here is a review of Nittany Lions who have earned Super Bowl rings over the past 50 years:

1967 - Dave Robinson (Green Bay)
1968 - Dave Robinson (Green Bay)
1969 - Ralph Baker (New York Jets)
1971 - Glenn Ressler (Baltimore Colts)
1973 - Bruce Bannon (Miami Dolphins)
1974 - Bruce Bannon (Miami Dolphins)
1975 - Jack Ham & Franco Harris (Pittsburgh Steelers)
1976 - Jack Ham & Franco Harris (Pittsburgh Steelers)
1977 - Dave Rowe & Ted Kwalick (Oakland Raiders)
1978 - Tom Rafferty (Dallas Cowboys)
1979 - Jack Ham & Franco Harris (Pittsburgh Steelers)
1980 - Matt Bahr, Jack Ham & Franco Harris (Pittsburgh Steelers)
1981 - Chris Bahr & Matt Millen (Oakland Raiders)
1982 - Pete Kugler (San Francisco 49ers)
1983 - Larry Kubin & Rich Milot (Washington Redskins)
1984 - Chris Bahr, Matt Millen & Jim Romano (Los Angeles Raiders)
1986 - Mike Hartstine & Matt Suhey (Chicago Bears)
1987 - Brad Benson (New York Giants)
1988 - Rich Milot (Washington Redskins)
1989 - Pete Kugler (San Francisco 49ers)
1990 - Pete Kugler & Matt Millen (San Francisco 49ers)
1991 - Matt Bahr & Bob Mrosko (New York Giants)
1992 - Andre Collins, Tim Johnson & Matt Millen (Washington Redskins)
1997 - Marco Rivera (Green Bay Packers)
2001 - Sam Gash & Kim Herring (Baltimore Ravens)
2003 - Joe Jurevicious (Tampa Bay Buccaneers)
2004 - Shawn Mayer (New England Patriots)
2005 - Justin Kurpeikis (New England Patriots)
2006 - Jeff Hartings (Pittsburgh Steelers)
2008 - Jay Alford & Kareem McKenzie (New York Giants)
2009 - Sean McHugh & Scott Paxson (Pittsburgh Steelers)
2011 - Andrew Quarless (Green Bay Packers)
2012 - Jimmy Kennedy & Kareem McKenzie (New York Giants)
2014 - Jordan Hill & Michael Robinson (Seattle Seahawks)
2016 - Jordan Norwood (Denver Broncos)
2017 - Chris Hogan (New England Patriots)

Fight On State Top Stories