Lions Announce '07 and '08 Schedules

The Nittany Lions just announced their scheduls for the 2007 and 2008 seasons. In recent years the Lions have renewed some of their classic rivalries with teams like Nebraska, Miami and Boston College. They will continue to do so in coming years, bringing Notre Dame and Syracuse back into the lineup.

Penn State will play its first two Big Ten games on the road (Michigan and Illinois) to open the 2007 conference slate. The Nittany Lions then play four of their final six conference games at home, starting with Iowa (Oct. 6) and Wisconsin (Oct. 13).

Following a trip to Indiana, Penn State hosts Ohio State (Oct. 27) and Purdue (Nov. 3) to culminate the blockbuster home slate. The Lions have an open date on Nov. 10 and visit Michigan State on Nov. 17 in the season ending clash for the Land Grant Trophy.

In addition to Notre Dame, Penn State has verbal agreements from its two remaining non-conference opponents in 2007. Those games will be announced once contracts have been signed.

In 2008, the highlight of the non-conference slate is a Sept. 13 visit to Syracuse, the first meeting between the old rivals since 1990. The Orange will visit Beaver Stadium on Sept. 12, 2009 for the first time since 1990.

The Nittany Lions will begin and end Big Ten play at home in 2008, with a very challenging middle portion of the schedule. Illinois visits State College on Sept. 27 for the conference opener. Penn State visits Purdue (Oct. 4) and Wisconsin (Oct. 11) and hosts Michigan on Oct. 18. The Lions then travel to Ohio State (Oct. 25) and have an open date on Nov. 1 before visiting Iowa (Nov. 8). Indiana (Nov. 15) and Michigan State (Nov. 22) visit Beaver Stadium to conclude the 2008 season.

2007 Football Schedule

Date Opponent
Sept. 1 TBA
Sept. 8 Notre Dame
Sept. 15 TBA
Sept. 22 at Michigan
Sept. 29 at Illinois
Oct. 6 Iowa
Oct. 13 Wisconsin
Oct. 20 at Indiana
Oct. 27 Ohio State
Nov. 3 Purdue
Nov. 17 at Michigan State

2008 Football Schedule

Date Opponent
Aug. 30 TBA
Sept. 6 University of Central Florida
Sept. 13 at Syracuse
Sept. 20 TBA
Sept. 27 Illinois
Oct. 4 at Purdue
Oct. 11 at Wisconsin
Oct. 18 Michigan
Oct. 25 at Ohio State
Nov. 8 at Iowa
Nov. 15 Indiana
Nov. 22 Michigan State

Fight On State Top Stories