Poz Makes Bednarik Cut

Junior linebacker Paul Posluszny has been named a semifinalist for the Chuck Bednarik Defensive Player of the Year Award. The Penn State captain is among four Big Ten semifinalists for the prestigious defensive honor.

Posluszny, a native of Aliquippa, Pa., is one of three other Big Ten defensemen named to the semifinalist list — Ohio State's A.J. Hawk, Northwestern's Tim McGarigle and Iowa's Chad Greenway.

The winner of the Bednarik Trophy will be announced on December 8th during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show in Orlando, Fl.

Posluszny ranks No. 22 nationally in tackles per game with 10.44 and has a total of 94 tackles, which places him No. 7 nationally.

Posluszny is also a semifinalist for the Butkus Award.

The complete semifinalist list for the Bednarik Award is:

Elvis Dumervil (DE) Louisville
Chad Greenway (LB) Iowa
Aaron Harris (LB) Texas
Spencer Havner (LB) UCLA
A.J. Hawk (LB) Ohio State
D'Qwell Jackson (LB) Maryland
Mathias Kiwanuka (DE) Boston College
Tim McGarigle (LB) Northwestern
A.J. Nicholson (LB) Florida State Paul Posluszny (LB) Penn State
DeMeco Ryans (LB) Alabama
Patrick Willis (LB) Mississippi


The Nittany Lions are going bowling this year. Want to be a part of the Fight On State bowl package, where you will receive the most travel bang for your buck and have a chance to spend time with folks from the best Penn State site on the Internet?


Fight On State Top Stories