NitPick Awards: Rookie of 2005

We continue the 2005 NitPick Awards with the Rookie of the Year honor. See who the candidates are and cast your vote for the Nittany newcomer who had the biggest impact on Penn State this season.

So far the Nittany Nation has named their Offensive and Defensive MVP with two of Penn State's captains grabbing those honors:

  • Offensive MVP: Michael Robinson (92% of vote)
  • Defensive MVP: Paul Posluszny (58% of vote)
  • Special Teams MVP: Ethan Kilmer (77% of vote)

    Here are the candidates for the 2005 Rookie of the Year:

    Deon Butler

    Redshirt freshman Deon Butler led the team this season in receptions with 36 for 678 yards (18.8 ypc) and nine touchdowns. The former walk-on defensive back was an immediate instrumental threat in the passing game.

    Kevin Kelly

    The true freshman kicker won the kicking duties in a battle with All-American Matt Waldron and led the team in scoring with 93 points, booting 15 of 20 (75%) field goals and 46 of 47 (98%) PATs.

    Justin King

    True freshman King showed his versatility by making an impact this season on both sides of the ball. On defense he has 11 tackls (nine solo). On Offense he pulled in five passes for 99 yards and two touchdowns and rushed 17 times for 228 yards. He also two kickoff returns for 21 yards.

    Jordan Norwood

    Norwood was another young force in the passing game this season, serving as a consistent target for Michael Robinson. Norwood pulled in 26 passes for 312 yards.

    Derrick Williams

    Prior to breaking his arm in the Michigan game, true freshman Derrick Williams showed why he was considered to be the top high school prospect in the nation last year. He rushed 22 times for 105 yards and three touchdowns and caught 22 passes for 289 yards and one touchdown, including the game-winning touchdown at Northwestern. He also returned 13 kicks for 274 yards. So in all he ended up with 668 all-purpose yards in seven games.

    Vote for your PSU Rookie of the Year

    The NitPick Awards are the only honors given to Penn State players by the fans of the Nittany Nation. Voting is exclusively held at


  • Fight On State Top Stories