NitPick Award: Play of the Year

We continue the 2005 NitPick Awards with the Play of the Year. See which plays made the candidate list and cast your vote for the Nittany Lions' Play of the Year.

So far the Nittany Nation has named their Offensive and Defensive MVP with two of Penn State's captains grabbing those honors:

  • Offensive MVP: Michael Robinson (92% of vote)
  • Defensive MVP: Paul Posluszny (58% of vote)
  • Special Teams MVP: Ethan Kilmer (77% of vote)
  • Rookie of the Year: Deon Butler (68% of vote)

    South Florida: 16-yard Fumble Return (Zemaitis)

    Alan Zemaitis scooped up a 16-yard fumble return against the Bulls of South Florida, giving the Lions a 17-0 lead on what turned out ot be a solid USF team. This play also set the tone for the defense early on.

    Cincinnatti: 59 Yard TD (Robinson to King)

    Plagued by erratic play and fumbles early on in the season, with only a 14-3 lead on the Bearcats, Robinson tossed a 59 yard pass to freshman Justin King who pulled it in for a touchdown

    Northwestern: 4th and 15 (Robinson to Smolko)

    With the game (and some argue the season) on the line, the Nittany Lions faced a fourth down with 15 yards to go on the final drive of the game. The senior quarterback saved the 80 yard drive with a 20-yard strike to tight end Isaac Smolko.

    Northwestern: Game Winning TD (Robinson to Williams)

    In the same final drive, Robinson hit Derrick Williams for the game-winning 36-yard touchdown with 51 seconds to play. This play is current up for the Pontiac Game Changing Performance of the Year.

    Ohio State: Interception (Lowry)

    In a chess match of defensive powers, Calvin Lowry made the defensive play of the first half, helping the Lions capitalize on major Buckey misstep. Intercepting Troy Smith on third-and-long, he returned his seventh career interception for 36 yards to the Ohio State 2-yard line. Setting up a second PSU touchdown and giving the Lions a 14-3 lead.

    Vote for your NitPick Play of the Year

    The NitPick Awards are the only honors provided to the Penn State program by the fans of the Nittany Nation. Voting is conducted exclusively at


  • Fight On State Top Stories