FOS L.B. Tourney Seedings wants our community to vote for the greatest linebacker of the Joe Paterno era at PSU. We begin the 16-man tournament by revealing the seedings, as picked by Penn State historian and frequent FOS contributor Lou Prato. The head-to-head matchups will begin later this week and continue until we crown a winner.

Last year we staged a quarterback tournament, and after surviving several strong battles 1994 standout Kerry Collins took the crown. This year we turn our attention to the position that allowed Penn State to gain its reputation as "Linebacker U."

The competition figures to be even more spirited than in 2005. Two linebackers many consider the best in the history of the program — Shane Conlan and current star Paul Posluszny — will have at it in the second round if both make it through their opening tilts.

The rest of Prato's Top 16 reads like a who's-who of Penn State greats, from Arrington to Buttle to Collins to D'Onofrio, nearly every letter of the alphabet is covered.

So without further delay we unveil Lou Prato's seedings. Stayed tuned to FOS over the next couple of days. The voting will be held on our free Audibles Message Board and we will have updates on our front page.

Note: Posluszny is still active and figures to move up on Prato's list with a strong senior season. But for now he checks in at No. 5.


Fight On State Top Stories