Lions Up for Honors

Recently announced semifinalist lists for the Lombardi Award and Guy Award included senior Nittany Lions Paul Posluszny and Jeremy Kapinos, respectively. Among the best at their positions nationally, both seniors are on track to own some Penn State records before the 2006 season is complete.

Kapinos Up for Guy Award

Averaging 41.7 yards on 31 punts this season, with 13 kicks inside the 20 and 10 fair catches, four-year senior starter, Jeremy Kapinos is a candidate for the Ray Guy Award, honoring the nation's top punter. Over his career Kapinos has 9,213 punting yards and is only 190 yards away from the PSU record held by Ralph Giacomarro.

Jeremy Kapinos, a Springfield, Va. native, is among the candidates for the Ray Guy Award, presented to the nation's top punter. He is one of 47 candidates up for the honor.

The semifinalists for the Ray Guy Award will be announced in early November and the winner will be announced on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 7 in Orlando, Fla.

The Ray Guy Award has never been won by a Penn State punter, however several Big Ten punters have been honored with the award since it's inception in 2000. Here are the past recipients of the honor:

2000 Kevin Sternke, University of Wisconsin
2001 Travis Dorsche, Purdue University
2002 Mark Mariscal, University of Colorado
2003 B.J. Sander, Ohio State University
2004 Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor University
2005 Ryan Plackemeier, Wake Forest University

Posluszny Up for Lombardi Again

Also, senior linebacker Paul Poslsuzny is once again up for the Lombardi Award, honoring the nation's top linebacker or lineman.

One of 12 semifinalists, the four finalists will be in announced early next month, and the winner will be named on December 6.

In 2005 Posluszny was a finalist for the award. Through seven games this season he has 57 tackles (34 solo) and two sacks.

He is the third Penn State defender to record 300 career tackles and only needs 31 more take downs to overtake Linebacker U.'s all time mark, currently owned by Greg Buttle's with 343 career tackles.

The other finalists for the honor include:

Joe Thomas, Wisconsin
Buster Davis, Florida State
Patrick Willis, Mississippi
Justin Blalock, Texas
Dan Mozes, West Virginia
aines Adams, Clemson
Mkristo Bruce, Washington State
Quentin Moses, Georgia
Brian Smith, Missouri
LaMarr Woodley, Michigan
Quinn Pitcock, Ohio State


Fight On State Top Stories