Impressive Honors for Posluszny

It's no secret to Nittany Nation fans that Paul Posluszny is a special person and player who has made his mark on Linebacker U. However, Posluszny's reputation is once again turning heads around the nation as he is named as a finalist for several of the most prestigious honors in college football.

Earlier this season many were questioning the on-field abilties of Paul Posluszny who was coming off an Orange Bowl knee injury and coping with a significant position shift to middle linebacker. However, Posluszny's fortitude and determination have placed him in the nationaly spotlight once again.

A 2005 All-American, Butkus and Bednarik honoree, Posluszny is once again up for a slew of national honors for his 2006 performance which had him leading the team with 108 tackles (just eight off his 2005 mark) and setting the all-time tackle mark for Linebacker U.

Here is a review of the honors Posluszny is currently a finalist for:

Lott Trophy

The Lott Trophy, named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, is awarded to college football's defensive IMPACT (Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity) player of the year. Now in its third year, the Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

The other finalists for the Lott Trophy are:

Daymeion Hughes, CB, California
Quinn Pitcock, DT, Ohio State

Butkus Award

The Butkus Award is presented by The Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, is named in honor of former Chicago Bears Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Dick Butkus and is presented to the nation's best collegiate linebacker. Posluszny won this honor in 2005.

The other finalists for the Butkus Award are:

James Laurinaitis, LB, Ohio State
Patrick Willis, LB, Mississippi

"It would be a huge honor (to win the Butkus Award twice), considering the only other guy who did that was Bosworth," said Posluszny. "I'm just happy to be with the other two guys who are obviously great linebackers and great football players. I'm just happy to be a part of the group."

Lombardi Award

The Lombardi Award is presented to the nation's top lineman or linebacker. Posluszny was the only junior among the four finalists for the 2005 Rotary Lombardi Award. He becomes the first Nittany Lion to be a two-time finalist for the prestigious honor.

The other finalists for the Butkus Award are:

Justin Blalock, G, Texas
Quinn Pitcock, DT, Ohio State
LaMarr Woodley, DE, Michigan

"Our finalists dominate on the football field and stand as examples of hard work, discipline and support on their teams and in their communities," said E. Michelle Bohreer, General Chair of the 37th Rotary Lombardi Award Committee. "Those are the characteristics so valued and respected by Coach Lombardi."

Bednarik Award

The Bednarik Award is presented to the nation's top defensive player and is presented by The Maxwell Football Club. The award was first presented in 1995 in honor of former Philadelphia Eagles standout Chuck Bednarik. Posluszny won the Bednarik Award in 2005.

The other finalists for the Butkus Award are:

Dan Connor, LB, Penn State
LaMarr Woodley, DE, Michigan

Penn State is the first school to have a pair of Bednarik Award finalists in the 12 years the honor has been presented. Former Nittany Lion All-America linebacker LaVar Arrington won the Bednarik Award in 1999.


Fight On State Top Stories