Poz Lands Second Bednarik

Penn State senior linebacker and captain Paul Posluszny became only the second player in Bednarik Award's 12-year history to win the honor twice. Posluszny also added another All-American title to his long line of honors as he was named a 2006 Walter Camp All-American.

Members of arguably the nation's top linebacker unit, Paul Posluszny and Dan Connor, were among the three finalists for the prestigious Bednarik honor, which is presented by the Maxwell Football Club. The award was first presented in 1994 in honor of former Philadelphia Eagles standout Chuck Bednarik.

Posluszny joined former Northwestern linebacker and current head coach Pat Fitzgerald as the only two-time winner of the honor. Fitzgerald presented Posluszny with the honor Thursday night in Orlando.

The award will formally be presented at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner on March 2, 2007 at Harrah's in Atlantic City, N.J.

This marks "Linebacker U's" third Bednarik Award, with former All-American LaVar Arrington winning PSU's first in 1999.

The 2006 preseason Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, Posluszny led the Nittany Lions in tackles and set the career tackles record this season. It was formerly held by Greg Buttle for 31 years.

Posluszny was also named to the Walter Camp All-American team at the event.

Connor and Jeremy Kapinos were each finalists for the Bednarik and Ray Guy Awards, respectively. Posluszny was also a finalist for the Butkus honor, an award he won in 2005.

As an intersting sidenote, Rutgers' head coach Greg Shiano won Coach of the Year honors and thanked his high school coach and Joe Paterno, whom he served under at PSU for six seasons and credited as a major influence in his coaching career.

Schiano recently pulled himself out of contention for the then-vacant head coaching job at Miami. There has been widespread speculation that he is angling for the Penn State job once Paterno retires.


Fight On State Top Stories