Lion Legends on HOF Ballot

The National Football Foundation announced recently the names of 75 players and eight coaches who comprise the 2007 Football Bowl Subdivision Ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, including Lion legends Curt Warner and D.J. Dozier.

Curt Warner and D.J. Dozier, running back legends out of Penn State, are among several names appearing on the ballot for the first time, including Tim Brown (Notre Dame); Randy Cross (UCLA); Pat Fitzgerald (Northwestern) and Doug Flutie (Boston College).

"Selecting the greatest players and coaches in the history of the game for induction into the Hall of Fame is an awesome responsibility," said NFF President Steven J. Hatchell. "It's our honor to preserve their legacies as an inspiration for future generations of players and fans."

The Hall of Fame Class will be announced at a press conference in New York City at the Waldorf-Astoria on May 9 and inducted at The National Football Foundation's 50th Awards Dinner on December 4, 2007 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. They will be officially enshrined at the Hall in South Bend, Ind. in the summer of 2008.

Another Penn State twist this season is that coach Joe Paterno will automatically be inducted this year, based on his election to the hall in 2006. His induction was postponed because he suffered a sideline injury last year that prevented him from attending the formal induction ceremonies in 2006.


Fight On State Top Stories