Nittany Lions Dominate All-Big Ten Teams

Paterno named Coach of the Year and Shipley tabbed as league's top offensive lineman. See who won what right here.

The All-Big Ten teams were announced Monday night. And, as expected, conference champion Penn State was heavily represented among the league's 2008 award winners with 10 first-team picks.

Joe Paterno was named the conference Coach of the Year for the third time.

The coaches first-team offense included the following PSU players: quarterback Daryll Clark, receiver Derrick Williams, offensive linemen A.Q. Shipley, Rich Ohrnberger and Gerald Cadogan, and kicker Kevin Kelly.

The coaches also named Shipley the Offensive Lineman of the Year.

“It meant everything in the world,” Shipley said on the Big Ten Network show where the teams were revealed. “There are so many great offensive linemen who come from the Big Ten.”

The media first-team offense included: Clark, Shipley, Ohrnberger, Cadogan and Kelly.

The coaches first-team defense included: defensive tackle Jared Odrick, defensive end Aaron Maybin, linebacker Navorro Bowman and safety Anthony Scirrotto.

The media's first-team defense included Maybin and Bowman.

PSU players not already mentioned who won second-team honors included running back Evan Royster, receiver Deon Butler, guard Stefen Wisniewski and cornerback Lydell Sargeant.

Nittany Lions not already mentioned who grabbed honorable-mention honors included: receiver Jordan Norwood, offensive tackle Dennis Landolt, defensive end Josh Gaines, linebacker Tyrell Sales, safety Mark Rubin, cornerback Tony Davis and punter Jeremy Boone.

Cadogan also won a sportsmanship award from the conference.


Thinking of going bowling with the Nittany Lions this year? We are now accepting deposits on Rose Bowl packages.

Get the lowdown at this link:


Fight On State Top Stories