Shipley Wins Rimington

Penn State senior A.Q. Shipley will be awarded the Rimington Trophy, presented to the nation's outstanding center, on Thursday.

According to the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette A.Q. Shipley has been selected as the 2008 Rimington Trophy winner.

The 2008 Big Ten Offensive Lineman of the Year, Shipley is not only the first recipient of the award, but is also the first Nittany Lion to be a finalist for the honor, which was first presented in 2000 in honor of former Nebraska standout Dave Rimington. The honor is presented by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which has raised more than $1.3 million for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation since the inception of the Rimington Trophy.

Shipley was one of six finalists for the 2008 Rimington Trophy; Antoine Caldwell (Alabama), Jonathan Luigs (Arkansas), Alex Mack (California), Max Unger (Oregon) and Eric Wood (Louisville).

Shipley will be awarded the 2008 Rimington Trophy during the ESPNU/Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 11.

An offensive co-captain and the leader of the offensive line, Shipley has been instrumental in anchoring Penn State's best offensive line since 1995. Shipley and the O-Line lead one of the nation's most potent offenses, as Penn State ranks 11th nationally in scoring offense (40.2 ppg) and No. 15 in the nation in rushing (211.6 ypg) and total offense (452.2 ypg). The Lions lead the Big Ten in total and scoring offense and are second in rushing.

A three-year starter, Shipley has been instrumental in helping Penn State have a 1,000-yard rusher for four consecutive seasons (three different players). Behind the former Moon Area High School standout, the Lions lead the Big Ten and are No. 9 in the nation in fewest sacks allowed this season with 12.

-30- is THE source for exclusive, inside coverage of Penn State football.

Fight On State Top Stories