Clark, Royster Up for Camp Award

Nittany Lion veterans make watch list for the award, which goes to nation's best offensive player.

Penn State quarterback Daryll Clark (Youngstown, Ohio) and tailback Evan Royster (Fairfax, Va.) are among the 30 initial candidates for the Walter Camp Football Foundation’s Player of the Year, the nation’s fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.

Royster also has been added to the Watch List for the Doak Walker Award, presented to the nation’s top running back. The Big Ten’s leading returning rusher was among 10 semifinalists for the 2008 Doak Walker Award.

Penn State is one of only five schools in the nation with multiple candidates on the Walter Camp “Players to Watch” list, joining players from Florida, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State and Texas.

Clark and Royster comprise two-thirds of the Big Ten Conference’s representatives on the Walter Camp Player of the Year list. Illinois wide receiver Arrelious Benn is the other.

Penn State’s John Cappelletti and Larry Johnson are previous winners of the Walter Camp Player of the Year.

“We are proud to continue the great work of Walter Camp and recognize the best college football players in the nation,” Foundation president Alphonse Paolillo, Jr. said. “This watch list is a great start to what is shaping up to be another exciting year of college football.”

The 2008 first team All-Big Ten signal-caller, Clark was a semifinalist for the 2008 Davey O’Brien Award and runner-up for Big Ten MVP. He was a responsible for a school record 29 touchdowns last season (19 passing, 10 rushing). A 2009 Davey O’Brien Award candidate, Clark was 192-of-321 for 2,592 yards, the third-highest passing yardage season in school history, throwing only six interceptions.

Royster has been selected a 2009 second team pre-season All-American by Athlon Sports, Sporting News and Phil Steele’s College Football. His 1,236 yards in 2008 were the 10th-best rushing season in school history, as averaged 6.5 yards per carry and scored 12 touchdowns.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in early November.  The 2009 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 119 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN’s SportsCenter on December 10.  The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on January 18, 2010 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Fight On State Top Stories