Two Lions on Outland Watch List

The Nittany Lions are one of seven teams to place two candidates on the 2009 Outland Trophy watch list.

Penn State joins Oklahoma, Texas, Florida, Alabama, Georgia and USC as the only teams to place two members on the 2009 Outland Trophy watch list.

Center Stefen Wisniewski and defensive tackle Jared Odrick are both candidates for the award that goes to the nation's top interior lineman.

A first-team All-Big Ten selection in 2008, Odrick pulled down 41 tackles las season and 4.5 sacks and looked upon as the leader of this season's edition of the defensive line.

Replacing All-American A.Q. Shipley at center, Wisniewski is being looked at as a major anchor to a rebuilt offensive line that has to replace the weak-side protection of Daryll Clark with the departure of Shipley, Rich Ohrnberger and Gerald Cadogan to the NFL.

Below is the full Outland Trophy watch list:

Jonn Asamoah, Illinois
Geno Atkins, Georgia
Zane Beadles, Utah
Ciron Black, LSU
Bryan Bulaga, Iowa
Jeff Byers, USC
Brandon Carter, Texas Tech
Nick Charles, Air Force
Terrence Cody, Alabama
Anthony Davis, Rutgers
Chris Fisher, Louisiana-Lafayette
Kurtis Gregory, Missouri
Chris Hall, Texas
Mike Iupati, Idaho
John Jerry, Ole Miss
Mike Johnson, Alabama
Arthur Jones, Syracuse
Gerald McCoy, Oklahoma
Josh McNeil, Tennessee
Andre Neblett, Temple
Kristofer O'Dowd, USC
Jared Odrick, Penn State
Vince Oghobaase, Duke
Russell Okung, Oklahoma State
Jeff Owens, Georgia
Mike Pouncey, Florida
Maurkice Pouncey, Florida
Brian Price, UCLA
Sergio Render, Virginia Tech
Boo Robinson, Wake Forest
Malcolm Sheppard, Arkansas
D'Anthony Smith, Louisiana Tech
Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska
Matt Tennant, Boston College
Torrell Troup, Central Florida
Adam Ulatoski, Texas
J.D. Walton, Baylor
Trent Williams, Oklahoma
Stefen Wisniewski, Penn State
Sam Young, Notre Dame


Fight On State Top Stories