Nittany Nation Votes Odrick Defensive MVP

Nittany Lion fans vote defensive tackle Jared Odrick their defensive MVP for the 2009 season.

With 12 starts this season, Jared Odrick pulled down 41 tackles, 15 of which were solo, grabbed 6 sacks and rolled up 10 tackles for loss. The defensive tackle consistently fought off double teams on his way to being named the Defensive MVP for the 2009 season.

Odrick beat out an impressive field of players, including safety Drew Astorino and linebackers Navorro Bowman, Josh Hull and Sean Lee. Odrick received an eye-popping 55 percent of the hundreds of fan votes cast.

This is the second major award for Odrick in as many weeks as he was named the 2009 Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year last week.

See the Voting Results Here

The lead up to the FOS MVP honors is the Fight On State Player of the Game honor, which is the first and only award given to Penn State players by Penn State fans. Fan voting is conducted exclusively at Here is is a rundown of the recipients of the fan honor this season:

Akron: Derek Moye
Syracuse: Sean Lee
Temple: Evan Royster
Iowa: Bowman
Illinois: Stephfon Green
E. Illinois: Jared Odrick
Minnesota: A.J. Wallace
Michigan: Daryll Clark
Northwestern: Daryll Clark
Ohio State: Graham Zug
Indiana: Navorro Bowman
Michigan State: Daryll Clark

See who received the FOS Take Your Marks' Awards from Mark Brennan and Mark Harrington here.


Fight On State Top Stories